## **Bournemouth Electric** 2

Kayne Daysh 57mins , John Taylor 110 mins.

## Victoria Cross

## 1 a.e.t.

## Martin Sault 65 mins

Bournemouth Electric emerged 2-1 winners after extra time against reigning Hayward Premier League champions Victoria Cross in a hard fought Mark Hart Sunday Senior Cup Final at Hurn Bridge.

Electric's Kayne Daysh had a couple of headed chances from corners and Phil Midson slotted the ball into the net after 18 minutes but the flag was already up for offside.

Sam Thompson was prominent in Victoria Cross' attacking play and a succession of in swinging corners from Aaron Carrivick tested the Electric defence in the closing stages of the first half.

Electric eventually broke the deadlock twelve minutes into the second half when **Kayne Daysh** thumped a shot past Victoria Cross 'keeper Kev Thorniley through a crowded penalty area.

Electric came close to increasing their lead when a Dan Pidgley shot went just over the bar while, at the other end, Matt Hollier made an excellent double save, first at the feet of Shane Barney and then getting back on his line to deny Luke Pidgley.

Victoria Cross were on terms in the 65<sup>th</sup> minute when Mickey Hubbard's free kick into the Electric penalty area came to skipper **Martin Sault** at the far post and he drilled a low shot into the net.

Matt Hollier made two vital saves as the game went into extra time, first from Shane Barney's 15 yard strike and then the Electric 'keeper did well to get down to save a close range effort from Suwie Thompson at the foot of the post.

Substitute **John Taylor** restored Electric's lead in the second period of extra time when his chip dropped inside the far post and then Sparkies' 'keeper Hollier pulled off a superb flying save when a sliced clearance from Kayne Daysh rocketed towards his own net.

Frustration got the better of Victoria Cross in the closing minutes of the game with skipper Martin Sault being sent off after receiving a second yellow card.

Electric goalkeeper **Matt Hollier** was chosen for the **Man of the Match** award by Bournemouth League President Mike Fowler.

**Bournemouth Electric :** Matt Hollier, Jamie Beamish, Aaron Corby, Mike Barber, Kayne Daysh, Dave Saunders, Phil Midson (Ali Williams 90 mins), Ryan Ashford (John Taylor 85 mins), Joe Kittle (Ben Hatch 74 mins), Jesse Hodgson, Dan Pidgley.

**Victoria Cross :** Kevin Thorniley, Suwie Thompson, Aaron Carrivick, Dale Hyne, Paul Giles (Ashley Ayley 65 mins), Josh Northam, Martin Sault, Aaron Stacey (Mickey Hubbard 51 mins), Shane Barney, Luke Pidgley, Sam Thompson.