Thursday 30th March 2017 at Hurn Bridge


West Howe are M.A.Hart Lawrence A Brivati Cup winners for the second time in three years following their impressive 5-1 triumph over Hayward Sunday Division Four rivals West Mullen at Hurn Bridge.

The game started at a cracking pace with both sides throwing caution to the wind. West Howe ‘keeper Sonny Turner raced out of his penalty area to perform a timely sliding tackle on Matt Warden while, at the other end, a free kick to the far post resulted in Kyle Leach steering the ball just over the bar from a tight angle.

Ellis George slipped the ball narrowly wide of the West Mullen goal after 18 minutes before West Mullen responded with Mitch Hack being put through by Matt Warden to slip the ball past Turner and agonisingly wide of the far post.

Mitch Hack was clean through again two minutes later and on this occasion he took the ball past the ‘keeper and planted it in the empty net to put West Mullen in front.

West Mullen’s joy was short lived though with Liam Whittle racing down the right straight from the restart to pull the ball back for Ryan Clarke to slam home West Howe’s equaliser, exactly 33 seconds after they had gone behind.

West Howe went ahead in the 36th minute when Gareth Else’s free kick from the right into a crowded penalty area was steered home from close range by Sam Davis at the second attempt.

West Mullen were struggling to contain the pacey Kyle Leach and he played a neat one-two on the edge of the box with Ritchie Whiting a minute later to get in a lob which only just cleared the crossbar.

West Mullen produced a neat three man move involving Brad Gale, Cassius Newton, and Matt Warden five minutes before the interval which resulted in Gale getting in a shot but goalkeeper Turner had narrowed the angle well to preserve West Howe’s 2-1 lead at the half way stage.

Gareth Else was put through on left in 56th minute to steer a shot wide of near post but West Howe’s third goal was to come three minutes later after Ryan Clarke was fouled just outside the penalty area. Sam Davis’ free kick was cleared but only as far as Ryan Clarke whose 20 yard volley curled majestically into the top corner of the net.

Leach raced through on left in 66th minute to send an inviting ball across the face of the goal and only just beyond the reach of Anthony Grieve who was coming in at the far post.

Leach then latched onto Ritchie Whiting’s excellent through ball a minute later to slide it past the advancing ‘keeper and narrowly wide of the post.

Freeman was soon back in action, diving to save from the marauding Leach before West Howe came surging forward again in the 69th minute. This time it was Gareth Else breaking through on the left to chip the ball to the far post where Marston Wortley was unable to capitalise.

Kyle Leach was finally rewarded for his persistence in the 77th minute when he burst through on the left to send a perfectly judged lob over the advancing ‘keeper and into the far corner of the net.

West Howe rounded off the scoring two minutes later when Ryan Clarke was brought down from behind in the penalty area and Gareth Else stepped up to convert the resultant penalty kick.

West Howe’s lively front man Kyle Leach was chosen by Hayward League President Mike Fowler for the Man of the Match award.

West Mullen :- Michael Freeman, Dan Warrilow (Callum Clayton 74 mins), Chris Baldry, Mark Lorains (Jack Dunne 63 mins), Joe Walden, Matt Warden, Jamie Robinson, Brad Gale, Mitch Hack, Cassius Newton, Paul Bedford (Chris Ashford 83 mins)

West Howe :- Sonny Turner, Kieron Shirley, Tommy King, Alex Lee, Ryan Clarke, Sam Davis, Gareth Else (Jordan Whittle 81 mins), Ellis George, Kyle Leach, Ritchie Whiting (Graham Warren 72 mins), Liam Whittle (Marston Wortley 65 mins)



 Lawrence A. Brivati Cup 2017

 Previous Winners

 Sponsored by Shoulder of Mutton 

Lawernce A Brivati Cup 2016


JP MORGAN                          3      aet

JP Morgan won 5-4 on penalties

26116364051 26c3043756 c

JP Morgan : _ Nigel Dunn, Gerard O’Mullan, Ben Duburguet-Gard, Freddie Porter (Glebs Kiselovs 40 mins), James Hardiman, Josh Hartley (Ryan Roberts 65 mins), Fergal McCloskey (Greg Jones 57 mins), Deon Brophy, Matt Lewis, Will Scudder, Craig Whittaker.



Sponsored by SHOULDER OF MUTTON Thursday 2nd April 2015 at the M.A.Hart Stadium, Hurn Bridge



West Howe had a night to remember when they came from a goal down against unbeaten Hayward Sunday Division Four title contenders Abbey to emerge 2-1 winners in Thursday night’s M.A.Hart Lawrence A Brivati Cup Final at Hurn Bridge.

The West Howe youngsters shrugged off the disappointment of seeing their Division Five championship hopes evaporate in recent weeks to produce a magnificent performance against a formidable Abbey side.

Abbey had the best of the early chances though and they eventually took the lead on the half hour when a header struck the West Howe crossbar and their big central defender Mark Dykes was perfectly placed to head home the rebound from close range.

Jordan Whittle was proving a handful for the Abbey defence and the diminutive front man put West Howe on terms nine minutes later when raced onto Gareth Else’s superb through ball to slot it past the advancing goalkeeper.

An entertaining first half was brought to a close with Abbey’s leading marksman Gary Shears whipping a shot on the turn across the face of the West Howe goal.

Kev Collins went close for Abbey at the start of the second half while Whittle and Ellis George were combining well for West Howe.

West Howe scored what was to be the winning goal after 58 minutes when midfield playmaker Ellis George skipped past two defenders to drill the ball into the far corner of the net.

Abbey came close to equalising in the 77th minute when substitute Simon Bereznicki drove a shot against the crossbar while Tommy King’s looping header struck the top of the crossbar at the other end.

West Howe ‘s lively front runner Jordan Whittle was chosen for the Man of the Match award by BFA President Mike Fowler.


Abbey :- Luke Dawe, Robbie Cullen, Chris Foster, Gary Vincent, Mark Dykes, John Bates, Jack Holland (Lewis Crumpler 67 mins), Tim Porter (Simon Bereznicki 74 mins), Gary Shears, Kevin Collins, Marc Vincent

West Howe :- Simon Kefford, Aaron Redmond, Ryan Cole, Ellis George, Jordan Whittle, Ritchie Whiting, Daniel Dominey, Gareth Else, Zak Cole, Tommy King. Alex Lee.




 Click Here for the Link to South Coast Journalisms Video of the Match


 Click Here for more Photos from Steve Harris