Sponsored by Poole Bay Estates




Thursday 20th April 2017 at Hurn Bridge

Shane Barney was the four goal star when Bournemouth Manor retained the M.A.Hart Poole Bay Challenge Cup by overwhelming Sway Reserves 9-0 in Thursday night’s final at Hurn Bridge.

First Division Sway had despatched three Premier Division sides, Alderholt, Hamworthy Recreation, and Parley Sports, en route to the final. Their hopes of adding Manor to their list of conquests were dashed however when the reigning Premier Division champions rattled in four goals in a twelve minute spell before the interval.

Manor dominated proceedings from the start with Terry Foote testing Sway ‘keeper Rob Old with a speculative lob from distance and, following a corner kick, skipper Darren Spiers drove a shot from the edge of the box just over rhe bar.

Manor opened the scoring in the 11th minute when Sam Purdy was put through on the right and his cross to the feet of Shane Barney was swept into the roof of the net by the Manor hit man.

A long range effort from Sway’s Jack Herbert in the 17th minute had Manor ‘keeper Steve Marais diving full length to push it away but it was ony a matter of time before Manor increased their lead which they did on the half hour.

Terry Foote played the ball across to Shane Barney who steered it into the corner of the net and Barney completed his hat-trick four minutes later when he latched onto Mickey Finch’s through ball, rounded the ‘keeper, and slotted it into the empty net.

Mickey Finch then got in on the act himself in the 39th minute, cutting in from the left to drill a low shot inside the near post and a trademark 35 yard free kick from the Manor wing wizard zipped into roof of Sway net three minutes later to give them a commanding five goal half time lead.

Sway began the second half in a much more determined fashion with goal attempts from Tom Linbourn and Jack Herbert.

Steve Marais raced out of his penalty area in the 49th minute to deny Dan Marks and the Manor ‘keeper had to produce an excellent diving save to keep out Chris Forbes’ near post header from a corner.

Sway contimued to press and Marais punched corner away in 68th minute and ball came to Boyt at the edge of the box who fired over the bar.

Back came Manor with Barney’s 70th minute shot deflected just wide for a corner from which Adam Janes went close at the far post.

Sway ‘keeper Rob Old was twice called upon to dive bravely at the feet of Barney while, at the other end, Sway’s best chance of the match came in the 85th minute with Bill Stride just unable to reach a low cross as he came sliding in at the far post.

Shane Barney scored his fourth goal of the game a minute later, heading over the ‘keeper from close range and a demoralised Sway then capitulated, conceding three more goals in the three added minutes at the end of the game.

Luke Scrimshaw converted Brad Aspin’s cross from the right, immediately followed 45 seconds later by Aspin himself weaving his way through the middle to smash home Manor’s eight goal.

Lewis Burgis then rounded off the scoring when he was played in to lash home Manor’s ninth goal.

Manor’s four goal star Shane Barney was chosen for the Man of the Match award by Hayward League President Mike Fowler.

Bournemouth Manor : Steve Marais, Dan Taylor, Dan Taylor, Adam Janes, Colin Dand, Mickey Finch (Brad Aspin 62 mins), Darren Spiers, Terry Foote (Liam Furiggia 70 mins), Shane Barney, Dave Saunders, Sam Purdy (Luke Scrimshaw 68 mins).

Sway Reserves : Rob Old, Nick Broom (Liam Miller 40 mins), Paul Jordan, Lee Gilbert, Rhys Williams, Tommy Linbourn (Joel Fields 59 mins), Jack Herbert (Bill Stride 59 mins), Aaron Hurdle, Dan Marks, Chris Forbes, Harry Boyt.

 Thursday 20th April 2017


Tuesday 19th April 2016 at Hurn Bridge















Bournemouth Manor :- Steve Marais, Darren Millar,(Lee Clarke, Mark Reilly Adam Louka, Liam Claire, Adam Janes, Sam Goodwin, John Taylor, Martin Sault, Darren Spiers, Terry Foote, Brad Aspin, Dave Saunders.

Tuesday 19th April 2016


Sponsored by Poole Bay Estates Thursday 23rd April 2015 at the M. A. Hart Stadium, Hurn Bridge 



Steve Flynn and James Pinder both grabbed hat-tricks when Hayward Sunday Premier Division champions Bournemouth Electric ran riot 7-1 against Bournemouth Manor in Thursday night’s M.A.HART POOLE BAY CHALLENGE CUP FINAL at Hurn Bridge.

Manor had their fair share of the chances in the early stages but it was Electric who opened the scoring after 22 minutes when Luke McCoy played an excellent ball up to Steve Flynn whose cross was lashed home by James Pinder.

Steve Flynn doubled Electric’s lead in the 29th minutes, going past two players before firing one in from the edge of the box, and he added another just a minutes later, latching onto a clearance by Manor goalkeeper Liam Roberts and slotting it past covering defender Fred Dennard.

Electric live wire Luke McCoy was sent tumbling in the penalty area by Fred Dennard in the 37th minute and Flynn stepped up to complete his hat-trick with the resultant spot kick.

Manor pulled one back a minute into stoppage time at the end of the first half when a mistimed challenge by Luke Miles resulted in a penalty which was drilled home by Darren Millar.

Electric’s four goal advantage was restored seven minutes into the second half when Luke McCoy curled the ball neatly beyond Manor goalkeeper Liam Roberts.

Manor’s claims for a second penalty when Jesse Hodgson went down under a challenge from Electric ‘keeper Hamed Faal were to no avail in the 68th minute and play immediately switched to the other end where Tim Constable put James Pinder through for his second goal of the game.

Pinder completed his hat-trick in the 78th minute after Constable and Flynn combined well to create the opening.

Electric’s Steve Flynn was chosen for the Man of the Match award by BFA President Mike Fowler.




Bournemouth Electric :- Hamed Faal, Richard Keith, Dan Taylor (Tim Constable 36 mins), Sean McCoy (Steve Haime 68 mins), Darren Mooney, Darren Saunders, Lloyd Miles, james Pinder (Paul Conroy 85 mins), Robbie Harber, Steve Flynn, Luke McCoy.

Bournemouth Manor :- Liam Roberts, Darren Millar (Scott Pilcher 65 mins), Fred Dennard, Nigel Pine, John Bastable, Lee Clarke (Crispin Rigler 55 mins), Liam Claire, Darren Spiers, Sean Gallagher (Nick Doe 65 mins), Jesse Hodgson, Luke Scrimshaw.




Click Here For More Photographs by Steve Harris


Click Here For the Video from South Coast Journalism