Sponsored by STAR SOCCER


Thusday 30th April 2017






Thursday 27th April 2017 at Hurn Bridge

Talbot Rangers completed a magnificent treble of all three major trophies when they ran out 4-1 winners against East Christchurch SC in the M. A. Hart Robbins Cup Final on Thursday night at Hurn Bridge.

With the Mark Hart Sunday Senior Cup and the Sunday Division One championship already in their possession, the pressure of expectation was on Rangers to make it a clean sweep.

East Christchurch were awarded a free kick in a promising position after 20 minutes when Jonny King was bundled over just outside the Rangers penalty area by Matty Ings. Darren Orchard got his free kick over the Rangers defensive wall but didn’t quite get enough dip on it to get it under the crossbar.

Rangers responded five minutes later with a Dan Jeffries effort going narrowly wide following a Mickey Finch free kick.

Finch fired in a low shot in the 32nd minute which brought a good save from East Christchurch goalkeeper Pete Old. Then Rangers opened the scoring after Jamie Morgan was tripped just outside the penalty area by Matt Piovan. Finch’s free kick came back off the crossbar and Marcus Cullen was on hand to head home the rebound.

A free kick into the Rangers’ goalmouth finished in the back of the net four minutes later thanks to the combined efforts of Piovan and Callum Dickenson but the linesman had his flag up for offside.

Sam Kennedy showed some deft touches to get East Christchurch on the attack again in the 40th minute and they were awarded a free kick on the edge of the Rangers penalty area after Jonny King was brought down by Morgan. King took the free kick himself but Rangers ‘keeper Nathan Clarke was perfectly positioned to make a comfortable save.

Mickey Finch doubled Rangers’ lead in four minutes into the second half when he dispossessed Dickenson 30 yards out and cut inside to send a fabulous curling effort into the corner of the net.

East Christchurch had a great opportunity to pull one back a minute later when Brad Aspin flattened Mitch East in the penalty but East blazed the spot kick over the bar.

Things went from bad to worse for East Christchurch when Mickey Finch added another in the 56th minute, winning the ball from Dickenson before driving it in off the underside of the crossbar.

Dominic Falco capitalised on another defensive slip in the 64th minute to run through on goal. Old did well to block Falco’s first effort but the Rangers striker drilled home the rebound despite Piovan’s desperate attempt to clear it off the line.

East Christchurch substitute Dave Midgley burst through in the 73 rd minute to get in a shot but Clarke narrowed the angle well to save with his legs.

East Christchurch did score a consolation goal in the 82nd minute when substitute James Tunnicliffe competed for a diagonal cross into the Rangers penalty area and the ball fell perfectly for Dave Midgley to slot it past Clarke from close range.

East Christchurch came close to pulling another one back in stoppage time when King met a low cross from Midgley but Clarke got down quickly at the near post to pull off a brilliant one handed save.

Rangers’ wide man Mickey Finch was chosen for the Man of the Match award by Hayward League President Mike Fowler.

East Christchurch SSC : Pete Old, Jack Smith, Matt Piovan (Dan Whitehouse 75 mins), Darren Orchard, Will Shaylor, Callum Dickenson, Jonny King, Sam Kennedy, Max Fletcher (James Tunnicliffe 60 mins), Mitch East (Dave Midgley 56 mins), Alex Whitehouse.

Talbot Rangers : Nathan Clarke, Jamie Morgan (Kieron Arif 59 mins), Brad Aspin, Jake Younger, Mickey Finch, Dominic Falco, Mark Rourke (Rico Wilson 70 mins), Marcus Cullen, Dan Jeffries (Brett Chandler 67 mins), Matty Ings, Sami Garcia.

Robbins Final - Thursday 30th April 2017



 Thursday 28th April 2016 


26615469752 9073ec8ca5 b

Priory Quays : Nick Elliott, Dan Brennan, Manny Ohameje, Ryan O’Reilly (Simon Tao 71 mins), Chris Burden (Rafael Santos 71 mins), Max Wilcock, Ollie Peckham, Steve Flynn, Kev Brennan, Max Crow, Stuart Ellis.

Robbins Cup 2016




Thursday 30th April 2015 at the M. A. Hart Stadium, Hurn Bridge

Pilot  4   Priory Quays  1

Write Up to follow










For More Pictures From Steve Harris Click Here


For The Video From South Coast Journalism Click Here